Sumterville (352) 793-5719 x54200

 

 

 

 

 

Program Rules for 16-17 year-old students

Candidates must be 18 years old to take the GED test per Florida statutes and GED policies.  The only exception to this is an Underage Waiver, which is submitted to the GED Testing Service by the Superintendent of the district in which the candidate lives or attends school.

Each school district develops a program and policies for 16-17 year old students.

Sumter County policies and rules are described below.

Students will be enrolled in the ABE/GED program under the following conditions:

GED Testing - Any candidate shall be at least 18 years of age on the date of the examination. Exceptions may be granted by the Superintendent or designee in extraordinary circumstances.

 

Before being considered for an age waiver, 16/17 year-old enrollees must, with a parent or guardian, meet with the Coordinator, and:

·         possess a valid government-issued picture ID,

·         arrive on time and stay for entire class unless parents notify the Coordinator,

·         maintain regular attendance (see below for license suspension/reinstatement rules),

·         actively participate in class and demonstrate respectful behavior toward instructor and other students,

·         follow the code of conduct,

·        stay in break area during all breaks,

·         attend a minimum of one semester,

·         take initial TABE and TABE posttest,

·         if all TABE scores are 9.0 or above and attendance is in compliance, take four GED Ready official practice tests and score Likely to Pass on each section,

·         continue to attend class until GED is passed,

·         be recommended by the teacher.

 

Students who are unable to comply are subject to dismissal without refund.

  

Driver's License Requirements

ATTENDANCE and DRIVER’S LICENSE

·         Notification will be made to Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to suspend driver’s license if student is absent 15 days (excused or unexcused) in a 90-day period or has 6 consecutive absences without doctor/hospital excuse.

·         Notification will be made to Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles to suspend driver’s license if student withdraws under a dropout code. 

·         Reinstatement request will be made by student/parent after 60 hours of instruction.  It is the student's responsibility to apply for reinstatement.